Childhood Dreams – Fame or Notoriety (written 2005)

Dreams about Fame or Notoriety

2005

The earliest dream I remember was when I was about four or five.  I had a dream that somehow I had saved the world by swinging on a swing.  Everyone was trying to identify me as the hero and find me and talk to me and I just wanted to run away.  I didn’t want to be known as the hero of the world – that was too much responsibility. I just wanted to be a kid and have fun.

Throughout elementary school, I alternated between basking in and reveling in attention and not wanting it at all.  Many events which were important milestones in my church, such as baptism and confirmation, I didn’t want to participate in because I didn’t want all the attention on me.  I wanted to spread it out with others rather than be the focus of attention.

Leave a Reply

